The Democracy Committee is our student leadership for elections, Student Council and the democratic governing of the SU. Working with staff, the Exec and the Trustees, they set rules for the running of elections and other democratic processes, review the structure of the SU and its governing documents, and work to make sure the SU stays fair and transparent, and to improve student engagement.

During elections they make decisions about implementation of the rules and the elections process according to the Election Rules and the By-Laws, and oversee election counts and administration.

The Democracy Committee positions are all elected, either by all students or by Student Council

Decisions of the Democracy Committee will be published on this website, and you can contact the Democracy Committee with any queries about elections on


Results Breakdowns

Results of previous elections:


Rulings and Minutes

Withdrawal of Candidate - Callum Pretty

Callum Pretty has withdrawn from the election for English (UG) Subject R...Read more

Tue 14 Nov 2023

Withdrawal of Candidate - Georgie Warner

Georgie Warner has withdrawn from the election for Women's Officer...Read more

Wed 10 May 2023

Withdrawal of Candidate - Manav Divecha

Manav Divecha has withdrawn from the election for Access, Education & Pa...Read more

Mon 27 Feb 2023

Democracy Committee Minutes - Lent Elections 2021

Minutes of meetings of the Democracy Committee during the 2021 Lent Elec...Read more

Mon 08 Mar 2021

Withdrawal of Candidate - Liam Webb

Liam Webb has withdrawn from the election for President (PG)...Read more

Sun 28 Feb 2021

Democracy Committee Minutes - 11/02/21

By-Laws Review Timetable, Lent Elections planning, Election Rules...Read more

Fri 19 Feb 2021

NUS Delegate By-Election - Results

Brittany Bursa was elected as NUS Delegate....Read more

Thu 04 Feb 2021



The members of the Democracy Committee are:

Democracy Committee Member

Returning Officer

Student Council Chair