Student-Led Teaching Awards: Shortlist Announced

SU Student-Led Teaching Awards: Shortlist Announced

The Student-Led Teaching Awards (SLTAs) exist to reward outstanding teaching and student support accross Cambridge University and its Colleges. We received nearly 500 nominations from students, which demonstrated the huge variety of exceptional contributions made by staff at the University. 

On behalf of all students, we want to thank everyone who was nominated for their fantastic work. We would also like to thank every student who took the time to submit a nomination, and for our two student judging panels. 

We are delighted to announce the shortlisted nominees for the 2023 Awards!


Small-Group Teaching (Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences)

Robert Machado

Christopher Burlinson

Deborah Bowman

Stefania Costea

Rebecca Heath


Inclusive Practice

Chris Sandbrook

Joel Robbins

Mark Wills

Anna Plumridge

Nadira Auty


Student Support (Academic Staff)

Howard P Nelson

Nick Friedman

Louise Joy

Hayat Muhammad

Alice Hehir


Innovative Teaching

Alex Freer

Gavin Stevenson

Neil Stott

Maria Noriega-Sánchez

Jacob Stegenga


Postgraduate Research Supervisor of the Year

Philip Knox 

Janet Deane 

Simon Deakin

Claire White

Kirsty Hughes


Lecturer of the Year (All Subjects)

Rosalind Love

Alison Forhead

Catherine Barnard

Findlay Stark

Eimear Dunne


Student Support (Non-Academic Staff) 

Andrew Spencer 

Davide Iafrate

Viviane Carvalho de Annunciacao

Mary Simuyandi

Lindsay Jones


Small-Group Teaching (Science & Technology)

Daniel Field

Elizabeth Harper

Angkur Shaikeea

Robert Dillon

Christopher Lester


Student Partnership and Empowerment 

Hugo Bromley 

Andrii Smytsniuk

Camille Lardy

Maureen Hackett

Maria Abreu


The Award ceremony will take place on Tuesday 16th May, shortlisted nominees will be invited to the ceremony, along with the students who nominated them. 



Other news