Cambridge University Cricket Club
CUCC has a rich history dating back to 1820. Fenner’s Cricket Ground has been the home of CUCC since 1848. CUCC has produced many great cricketers over the years, including 21 test captains, 62 other test players and noted senior administrators.
Nowadays, CUCC is a club of over 100 students. The men's side of the club is made up of the Men's Blues (1st XI), the Crusaders (2nd XI), and the Colleges XI (3rd XI). The women's side of the club consists of the Women's Blues (1st XI) and the Wayfarers Development Programme. We are also one of six ECB Centres of Excellence, playing under the banner of the Cambridge University Centre of Cricketing Excellence (UCCE).
Training takes place throughout winter in order for the Summer season to be as competitive as possible. The highlights of the season are the annual Varsity Matches against Oxford - One-Day fixtures for the Men’s and Women’s Blues, and a four-day fixture played by the Men’s Blues at Fenner’s or The Parks. Since 2008, Twenty20 matches are also played between the two Universities.
The club plays some 90 days of cricket each season. As well as our main fixtures against the services, MCC, Irish and Scottish Universities and clubs from the Cambridgeshire and Middlesex leagues, this includes the National League for the Men’s UCCE and matches in BUCS leagues for the Women’s UCCE and the Colleges XI. The Crusaders and Colleges XI also play annual matches against their OUCC counterparts.
The Wayfarers Development Programme helps less experienced female cricketers improve their skills to hopefully become Blues in the future.
For college cricketers, CUCC stages the annual ‘Cuppers’ competition; a limited overs knock-out competition between the Cambridge Colleges, with the final played at Fenner’s